Olaseinde Olufemi, One Day Governor, makes the rounds

By admin on September 12, 2016 0 Comments

Winner of 2016 Spelling Bee Competition and One-Day Governor, Master Olaseinde Olufemi of Shasha Community Senior High School was received at the Exco Chambers, Lagos House, Ikeja, recently by the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode during the 2016 One-Day Governor’s visit.

Spelling Bee is an annual competition for public primary and secondary schools in Lagos -Nigeria. The Competition which was initiated by The New Era Foundation commenced in 2001 with the primary objectives of promoting wholesome growth and development of the youth and also to impact on them the Culture of healthy rivalry while raising the standard of education in State.

The annual Competition is categorized as a distinctive one by the participants. Especially the secondary school students, that sees winning of the first position as a key to defining their self-esteem and personality amongst their pairs.

The preliminaries of the Competition hold at each of the 57 Local Government Area (LGA) and Local Council Development Area (LCDA) of the Sate to produce winners who will then represent the various LGA and LCDA at the Grand Finale of the competition which comes up annually in the state.

Prices for the winners ranges from cash prizes N250,000.00 – N100,000.00, an all-expenses paid Students Educational Exchange Programme abroad and the rare opportunity for the overall winner to become ‘One Day Governor’ in Lagos State.

The One Day Governor event remains the most motivating prize for all the 16 winners of the completion since inception in 2001. This according to the students gives them the opportunity to test in reality to feeling of responsibility, accountabilityand theduties aleader is saddled with in overseeing the activity of the state.

Since the introduction of the competition, the following students has emerged winners and ‘A Day Governor’; Master Ebuka Anisiobi 2001, Miss Otiti Ovuewhorie 2002, Master Emmanuel Aiyenitaju 2003, Miss Tolulope Esan 2004, Master Ajao Oyetade 2005, Master Abundance Ikechukwu 2006, Miss Mariam Busari 2007, Master Daniel Osunbor 2008, Miss Olaide Adesopo 2009, Miss Oluwatosin Adeosun 2010, Master Akpanakpan Iniodu Jones 2011, Miss Lilian Ogbuefi 2012, Master BoadleyJuwonAfolarin 2013, Master Olabanji Edun 2014, Master Idowu Sonoiki 2015 and the latest winner and One Day Governor 2016 Master Olaseinde Olufemi of Shasha Community Senior Secondary School, Lagos.

Comments are closed.