Spelling Bee 2016 holds amid pageantry

By admin on September 12, 2016 0 Comments

The 2016 Spelling Bee annual competition for public primary and secondary schools in Lagos –Nigeria held on 13th and 14th June 2016. The event was initiated and introduced to the Lagos State Ministry of Education by New Era Foundation (NEF), a Non-Governmental and Non- political charity organization under the leadership of Senator Oluremi Tinubu, the then First Lady of Lagos State.

Since the registration of NEF in 2000, the Competition which started in 2001 is categorized into two distinctive levels – the Primary and Secondary level – to allow equal peering in the student’s intellectual Quotient (IQ) and intellectual abilities. Age limitations for the two categories are 6years -12years, and 12years -17years for primary and secondary schools respectively.

The Foundation has focused on the primary objectives of promoting wholesome growth and development of youth by impacting on them the Culture of healthy rivalry while raising the standard of education in State.

The preliminaries of the Competition hold at each of the 57 Local Government Area (LGA) and Local Council Development Area (LCDA) of the Sate to produce winners who will then represent the various LGA and LCDA at the Grand Finale of the competition which comes up on the 13th and 14th June 2016 respectively .

Since the introduction of the competition in 2001, the following students has emerged winners and ‘A Day Governor’; Master Ebuka Anisiobi 2001, Miss Otiti Ovuewhorie 2002, Master Emmanuel Aiyenitaju 2003, Miss Tolulope Esan 2004, Master Ajao Oyetade 2005, Master Abundance Ikechukwu 2006, Miss Mariam Busari 2007, Master Daniel Osunbor 2008, Miss Olaide Adesopo 2009, Miss Oluwatosin Adeosun 2010, Master Akpanakpan Iniodu Jones 2011, Miss Lilian Ogbuefi 2012, Master Boadley Juwon Afolarin 2013, Master Olabanji Edun 2014, Master Idowu Sonoiki 2015and the latest winner and One Day Governor 2016 Master Olaseinde Olufemi of Shasha Community Senior Secondary School, Lagos.

Prices for the winners ranges from cash prize of N250,000.00 for Master Olaseinde Olufemi( First Position) N150,000.00 for 1st runner-up Master Komolafe Kehinde of Immaculate Heart Snr. Sec. Sch, Ikorodu and N100,000.00 for the 2nd runner-up Miss Okinbaloye Rashidat of Ilupeju Snr, Gramm. Sch. The students also got other gift items with an all-expenses paid Students Educational Exchange Programme abroad. The overall winner becomes ‘One Day Governor’ in Lagos State for 2016.

Comments are closed.